PDA

View Full Version : Advice on medications- I've tried a bunch

nervousnelly12
01-08-2012, 05:28 PM
Hi guys,

I'm new here. I have had anxiety/panic my whole life. It seems to get worse whenever I'm in stressful situations. I just started a job that is making me not only mentally sick but physically sick. I wake up shaking having a panic attack almost every night thinking about the next day. I am a new teacher, so I stress about my lessons all the time.

I've been to a psychiatrist a long time ago, but she was a pill pusher and didn't help talk therapy-wise. I've been on Effexor, Celexa, Wellbutrin, and possibly BuSpar? Maybe klonopin? She was prescribing so many things when things weren't working, I lost track. The Effexor and Celexa made me a zombie and sweaty. I still got totally anxious around my period (like 2 weeks before it!). I also have had xanax 0.5mg as needed. For years, I've just been taking that as needed, but now this isn't even working to help me sleep and take my mind off things.

I went to talk therapy last Spring and it did help, but only temporarily. I'm thinking I need to do a combo of talk therapy and medication, but I'm not sure what type of medication would work based on my history.

I called in sick for Monday and sent it sub plans. The thought of going back to that job makes me sick. It's only a 3 month stint, and my mother said she could give me money if I needed to quit (which would be about half of what I'd get if I stuck it out), but I don't know if I should. I asked them for a mentor (via email) and I'm waiting for them to respond and see if me calling in after 4 days on the job is going to get me fired. I'm just so overwhelmed and feel lied to about the work and information/support I'd have.

What meds have worked for you that make your brain stop worrying 24/7? I'd like to not feel guilty for trying to relax/take time for myself.