PDA

View Full Version : questions about lexapro. can it wear off?

homebird
12-02-2011, 05:56 PM
I'm relatively new to this anxiety thing. After my daughter was born a year and a half ago, I started having severe anxiety and panic attacks. I saw a psychiatrist who diagnosed me with adjustment disorder with anxiety and prescribed lexapro. I was on a 10 mg dose for several months, and then eventually weaned off with no problems.

I was fine until about 4 months ago when, due to some stressful life situations, I found myself having panic attacks again. My new doctor put me back on 10 mg of lexapro and I felt fine within two weeks. I've been taking the meds ever since and feel great.

Now, fast forward to a few days ago. I've had a nasty flu and (sorry tmi) my monthly cycle came the same day I was puking my guts out. Yesterday was my first day back at work. I felt ok, a little weak from the flu, but nothing else. In the afternoon I started to feel anxious and by the evening I was having a full-fledged panic attack.

I don't know what the heck is going on. Usually when I have panic attacks they're *about* something. I am seriously not anxious or stressed about anything.

My dad (who suffers from anxiety as well) thinks it's because I've been sick and my body is weak. I'm terrified that the medicine is wearing off or it's not working anymore.

What should I do? Should I give it some time and see if my body just needs to rest? Or should I call my doctor? The only way I've gotten over these panic attacks before is with medicine, and now that I'm already ON medicine I feel like I have no coping mechanism. I didn't know I could get panic attacks while I am taking lexapro, it's never happened before.

Help, please. Any advice would be appreciated.

aag2001
12-02-2011, 09:38 PM