PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety while driving- Fear of losing control

Alma
11-12-2011, 09:32 PM
Hello all, I joined the forum in search of answers for an issue I've had over the past few months. I was once a confident driver, but now I cannot get in the car without anxiety -My symptoms range from nervousness to headaches.

I spend a lot of time worrying about driving, which I know is irrational. I do have moments of confidence, but they are rare. I commute to work, and I put a ton of thought into my driving and other drivers. It really sucks, because I'm a good driver, but I'm overwhelmed with nervousness. And the physiological symptoms make it a lot worse. I twitch a lot in my neck and sometimes get a headache. This scares me even more, because I fear I'll lose control.

I get most fearful on crowded highways with fast moving traffic and negotiating curves when other cars are flying past me. Night driving makes it worse. I'm usually over the speed limit too.

Please respond if you can help me with this issue. I want to be able to drive anywhere, without giving it a second thought. As of now, I don't want to drive anywhere I don't have to.

PS... I was once a confident driver, and know the feeling of freedom there is in a car, but can no longer experience it due to my driving anxiety. This is the most frustrating part for me.

Ziggy925
11-18-2011, 01:35 PM
I hear ya. I live in the mountains and had constant visions of driving off the road which kept me out of the car. SSRI's helped me to the point where I now drive just for the hell of it, and long drives, which I found almost impossible, are no problem now. I don't mean to sing the praises of SSRI's, but there is help out there and you will get over this.

Oh, yeah. Where I live I have to drive 45 miles one way to buy underwear and sock, so you can imagine how ratty things were getting before I got help. Thank god for the Internet.

TheEditor
11-25-2011, 12:16 PM