PDA

View Full Version : My first post so can I feel as ill as this because of anxiety???

KevinJ
04-16-2011, 09:26 AM
Hi everybody,
Here is my story....I feel really down right now, Just hope someone can help and maybe agree that it is anxiety????
I am 56, been in good general health all my life but have always been a worrier. I remember many years ago I went through the 'I can't swallow ' thing but got over that OK in time. I am a musician and I do perform even though I have always got quite nervous before a show.
I worked for many years with my father who passed away a few months ago....we were very close and now my Mother relies on me a lot for support.
I have to spend quite a bit of time off and on overseas for my music career and I feel guilty leaving her and my wife in England (my wife is OK about everything) and it was while I was there that I had a panic attack. Previous to that I had some sort of virus which effected my asthma and was on antibiotics which did not seem to help. Was left with a dry cough and feeling of being out of breath.
Anyway while away I had to go to the emergency dept. I could not breathe, came over hot...was sweating shaking...felt like I was dying. They checked me out....heart Ok...lungs clear, but still a bit of a temperature. They said it must be panic and gave me a vallium which I did not take. I did calm down.
After that I kept getting short of breath in the evenings and not feeling good. Was shaking a lot and kept getting hot flushes on and off.