PDA

View Full Version : How to help a loved one with anxiety?

jlc04j
11-29-2009, 03:08 PM
Hi! My boyfriend just broke up with me because of his anxiety. He says he has to fix himself and love himself before he can love anyone else. As much as I hate it, I know he needs his time and space. I know he needs to get this under control. However, all I want to do is help. I try to read as much as I can about anxiety, its causes, common treatments so I can understand as best as I can. I'm a masters student in behavioral psychology, so this topic isn't completely foreign to me. I'm able to read the literature and determine what is better vs. what is crap. But, he doesn't want me to contact him. He says it just hurts him. What can I do? I love him too much to do nothing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much,
Jen

Belle
11-29-2009, 09:55 PM
It's hard to know what to do if he doesn't want your help or to even speak to you?
You sound like a very caring and understanding person, personally if it was me I wouldn't be so understanding and give him a good kick up the backside!! I know anxiety is hard and sometimes you go through times where you need to re-evaluate yourself, but I always did that with my partner/husband by my side, my feelings for him never changed and was always my inspiritation to be better. I would never had hurt him like that just to deal with my anxiety, anxiety should never change your life. And still to this day he doesn't understand what I feel or go through, but that's ok I don't need him to as long as he is there and doesn't pressure me, he accepts me for me.
The only thing you really can do is let him know your still there and be there when he's ready and there's no pressure and you'll give him the space he needs, but if he doesn't want you to wait and doesn't see the future with you in it, then don't wait. There's not much more you can do, it's something he needs to figure out for himself.