PDA

View Full Version : How bad is my anxiety?!

loldonkaments88
12-19-2008, 08:32 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a new poster here - never really articulated stuff like this before but for some curious reason I can't describe I feel more comfortable doing so upon the ears of people I don't yet know than loved ones.

I'm an economics student at Durham in my final year of study. When I was at home over the summer one evening my older brother, who has quite a bad drug problem, came into the house demanding money from my parents. When they refused, he proceeded to take a knife from the kitchen, hold it to his throat and threaten to kill himself if they didn't do it, then he stormed out.

Since then, the world's been...different. I woke up the next morning and had my first panic attack, then I had them almost daily for a period of about two weeks. I questioned everything I did - even the most basic stuff like putting the kettle on to make a cup of tea made me worried in case I'd done it wrong and would break it, for example. I left the job I was at over the summer and felt terrible for doing that, but I don't think I was either physically or phycologically able to do it.

I went back up to uni earlier than planned following this and things seemed a lot better. I had maybe four or five panic attacks all term but generally felt more like myself and had a really good ten weeks - I managed to keep up with my work and also took a job on the student bar to prove to myself I could take the commitment.