PDA

View Full Version : Generalized Anxiety, Worries about Health

Jreader
11-06-2016, 06:26 PM
Hi, All

I am new to this but I needed an outlet. I went to therapy a few times some years back, stopped going because of price but she diagnosed me with GAD. For years, (and now still) I got horrible pains in my chest. I am 31 now and have been to every doc known to man, Cardio the works. Nothing wrong with my heart, yet at least once a day I felt like i was going to just keel over. I realize this is from GAD but it is so hard to deal with sometimes. I am a dad, with a 1 year old and 2 year old. My job is also pretty stressful and this year in Feb, we went through a lot of layoffs and that was something I didn't deal with very well. I made it out luckily, but the stress of what went down was a lot to deal with. Anyway, for the past year, I've been having a lot of IBS type symptoms, mainly with D. Tried a lot of pro biotics, imodium etc. They work sometimes but I did the stupid thing and googled symptoms. Everything I read says cancer, cancer, cancer. Change in bowel habits? Cancer. Of course, I obsess about this to the point it makes me want to cry because I am terrified something bad is wrong with me and that my kids won't have their daddy anymore. It is probably irrational but I try to google things to make myself feel better and all I see is CANCER CANCER CANCER. I can't sleep, my stomach is a wreck, I made an appointment with a GI doc, which I have been avoiding because I'm scared to do the testing. My wife lost her dad a few years ago to cancer and I lost my dad at 17 to heart issues. I have just been so worried about my health and something being wrong on top of having GAD, I feel like I"m going nuts. Does anyone have any advice on this?

gypsylee
11-06-2016, 07:51 PM
Hi and welcome :)

I don't really get health anxiety (I smoke a pack a day so I can't be that worried) but if I Google symptoms even I think I've got cancer. So my first rule is never use Dr Google.