PDA

View Full Version : Question for people who work with panic disorder or anxiety

blossy
07-28-2016, 02:17 PM
I'm a recently qualified teacher in my early 20s and I have had panic disorder and agoraphobia since I was a child. I have been on Valium twice weekly for my disorder for the past 5 years. These last 5 years I've had periods of severe agoraphobia and pleasant periods of 'normality', but towards the end of finishing my PGCE this year my panic attacks worsened and I am now worried about how I'll cope once I secure a job. I have never had a job before due to being in full time education these past several years. So far I have been unsuccessful in all 7 of my teaching job applications but I keep trying.

I have some questions for people who suffer from panic disorder or anxiety and are able to work. Do you need to take Valium/meds for every day you work? How often do you panic at work? Does the anxiety get worse towards the end of the working day? I often get really nauseous and hence anxious towards the evening if I haven't had dinner by a certain time, so this will be an issue when working. I'd appreciate any responses and advice or coping strategies from anyone who works with these often debilitating disorders. Thank you.

Positivethoughtonly
07-28-2016, 05:42 PM
I used to take meds everyday but I stopped a few months ago. At work for me, the norm is usually in the afternoon or even when I just wake up.

But, besides me you will make it and do amazing. I know the the job applications didn't go well but fall down 7 stand up 8. You will get there. I want you to get there. Good teachers are always needed. You will do it. Sending tons and tons of positive vibes your way.

The Intolerable Kid
07-29-2016, 08:07 AM