PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety from loss of purpose and left with own thoughts

matty_t
06-24-2015, 04:18 AM
Hey guys, so I've suffered through a number of different anxiety 'phases', one of which I am going through now and it all seems too clear what the problem actually is. I am a student doing a PhD at the moment, however before I decided what I actually wanted to do, I went through extreme anxiety - not knowing where my life was going. Though it appears to be even tougher than that - after big projects that I have worked on for uni, as soon as they are immediately done I feel like I have lost purpose, and the thought of not having things to occupy my time frightens me to the point of panic attacks. On top of that, when I find that I cannot distract myself in any way (effectively), I start developing anxious thoughts...and a longing to be home in front of a computer, or to do some more work in order to distract myself. When this usually can't be achieved, I go into panic mode.

If anyone has experienced this, do I need extra structure in my life? The thing is...I know I won't always have ways to distract myself from my thoughts (I can't work forever), so is it a matter of being comfortable with my own thoughts? Trying to live through downtime where nothing has really been planned? Because these prospects scare me like crazy - I can't stand not having something I must be doing or must be preparing for.

Does anyone have any tips on how to be more comfortable with a life that isn't always structured?

Thanks

Silhouette
06-24-2015, 05:01 PM