PDA

View Full Version : Public speaking

Teacher
04-13-2015, 11:47 AM
Hi,

I am a teacher and I suffer from general anxiety. My anxiety is heightened with groups larger than around 3 but for some reason I don't feel anxious around groups of children! To progress further in my career I have to public speak. I have managed to avoid it up till now and the few times where I've had to speak (for a short period of time) have been awful. I have very visible symptoms as I shake uncontrollably, which also affects my voice. I heart also feels like it's going to burst out of my chest. I even refused to make a speech at my best friends wedding as the anxiety is so bad. I have no accepted a senior position in a new school where I will undoubtedly have to public speak. With me it's not a case of if you just do it you'll be fine. The physical symptoms will surface. They do even when I have to answer a question in front of people so addressing an audience would be unbearable.
My question is what is the best action for me? I am considering paying over 1k for hypnosis for example, it's not money I have but if it changed my life of course it would be worth it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

jessed03
04-13-2015, 01:20 PM
Hypnosis would be a gamble. A vegas-type gamble. Some people respond really well to it, but some people are almost immune.

As somebody who struggles badly with public speaking myself, the best thing I've found is good old fashioned exposure. (CBT didn't help as it was an instantaneous anxiety.)

Joining a Toastmasters group, or something of a similar nature, will be sure to improve your public speaking, even though it will be a little tough to begin with. The best thing is, you can go often, so you can keep up the habit of speaking. You'll stay loose, so to speak.

Failing that, benzos and beta-blockers can help. They're really effective if you find the right dose. Though, they are just a crutch. Best for occasional speeches.

Dahila