PDA

View Full Version : Am I taking too many supplements?

PsychoGirl
03-23-2015, 06:05 AM
I feel like I already know the answer. Here's what I take daily:

Probiotic
Elderberry
Multivitamin
CLA
L-theanine
Chelated Magnesium
Chamomile Flowers
Passion Flower Extract
Green Tea Extract
PharmaGaba chewables
D-mannose
Apple Cider Vinegar tablets
Biotin
Virgin Coconut Oil tablets

I have no known medical issues (besides anxiety obviously) and take these as a preventative measure due to my health anxiety. Thoughts?

Kuma
03-23-2015, 08:19 AM
While I am not a doctor, and therefore am not qualified to give medical advice, I strongly suspect that you are taking too many supplements. The medical evidence that supports taking supplements -- for those who are generally healthy, have an adequate diet, and have no identified vitamin deficiencies -- is quite weak. And some supplements can cause harm as well as benefits.

What I would do this this: Go to a really well qualified internal medicine doctor (GP), have a complete physical including appropriate blood work, and then ask the doctor which of the supplements you are taking you should continue to take and which you should stop taking. Don't be surprised if the doctor tells you to stop taking ALL of these supplements.

You might feel OK doing that if the advice came from a well qualified doctor who had examined you and reviewed your labs. And of course that would end up saving you a fair amount of money as well -- though I realize this decision is not primarily a financial one.

Eat a well balanced diet and try to get enough sleep and exercise. That is probably much more valuable than taking all these pills and herbs and whatever.

Best wishes.

Goomba
03-23-2015, 10:36 AM
Kuma nailed it.

A good quality probiotic, multivitamin, and a balanced diet is all I would recommend.

Also exercise.