PDA

View Full Version : New Job- help!

Swirledmind
03-04-2015, 09:08 PM
Hello all.

I have serious life problem. I recently quit my job of 3 years to pursue a job in the field which I obtained a advanced degree in ( my previous job did have some relation to this field). I have very little experience in this aspect of the field ( new job) and have not practiced these skills for quite some time ( 4.5 years). My new employer was aware of this when they hired me. However, immediately when I started Monday I was assigned tasks for that week which I am not quite comfortable with as I have not been able to refresh my skills. I am feeling very overwhelmed at the amount I will have to learn and how soon I will need to apply it. My new job directly effects others lives and it makes me uneasy/nervous to be doing something that I feel I am doing wrong when it impacts others. Ever since the first day I have had this urge to quit. I have never felt like this after starting a new job. I feel like maybe this type of career is not for me anymore, and that the ship has sailed. The way I have felt for the past 3 days is unlike any feeling I have felt before. I feel like I may have made one of the worst decisions in my life. I feel as though I will get fired eventually if I do not quit. Even if this is not true- I feel awful and like I am doing a disservice to my clients. If I quit I will have to look for a new job ( going back to my old job is not an option), and am scared not to have health insurance. I guess I could get COBRA for a little.

Sometimes I think I should just leave my current field all together and do something else. But this is VERY nerve racking. For the past three days I have cried everyday and felt the urge to bolt. My husband of course is disappointed in this, but I feel so unprepared and incompetent. I really do not feel this is only because of my anxiety either. I really feel like I have no idea what I am doing. I should be sleeping right now...