PDA

View Full Version : I am afraid of taking medication

intentus18
07-16-2008, 04:30 PM
Hi everyone. I am a 18 year old female who was diagnose with anxiety and mild depression. I was a freshman at an Ivy league school and started having panic attacks and had trouble concentrating and paying attention in class because of my anxiety. I would stay up for 30+ hours despite refraining from caffeinated beverages because I could not fall asleep. My mind would never be at ease and could not stop thinking. I would think about school (i.e. assignments that i need to do, exams) , my family, or random thinks like the how bad the economy is. I would even do math problems in my head. I had really irrational fears like if I failed a class, i would automatically get kicked out and that I would be working at McDonald's for the rest of my life. I would cry and have panic attacks that would trigger my asthma. I could feel my heart beating rapidly, feel the adrenaline rushing through my body and was tense all the time. I would have a lot of extra energy and be could not stay still. I also developed anxiety when I speaking to people especially when I am speaking to people about my anxiety. Sometimes i stutter or repeat words over. I never use to do this.