PDA

View Full Version : New here - Long post

sarrah
07-13-2008, 05:47 PM
My name is Sarrah and I am pretty new to this anxiety thing. Below is my story so far. Maybe writing it all out will help somehow.

It started about a year ago while planning my wedding and has slowly spun out of control. It started with chest pains, racing heart that sent me to the doctor. She did the usual tests and said everything was fine but here is some xanax to help you get through the rest of your wedding. Well, I don't remember my wedding but I do remember the most miserable honeymoon a person can have. I was terrified the whole time I was going to be sick in front of people. After the stress of the wedding went away, my panic attacks lessons to the point I almost forgot how bad they were.

Well, in October I was told I have to have major surgery and that started the ball rolling again. I managed without using many pills but still had a rough time. 3 months after surgery I was put on Topamax for nerve pain and after about a week my heart went crazy. I was having horrible heart attack like symptoms so when I finally called my doc she sent me to the ER for testing and it may or may not have been a heart attack because my enzymes were right on the borderline.

After this I have had a PET stress test, an ECG and a tilt table test and all came back with healthy heart results. I have been fighting the panic attacks since then but unfortunalty I had to have ANOTHER surgery about two weeks ago and when I came out of happy land I could not breath. As in, swore I was gonna die and was hoping my family knew I loved them. Siince then I have had horrible panic attacks just about everyday. I have been taking my xanax, not much maybe .5 mlg a day, maybe .75 if it is a rough day. My poor husband has been doing his best to keep my from losing my mind and I have seen my counselor and talking helped but then something happens and it all comes rushing back in wave after terrifying wave.