PDA

View Full Version : I feel like I've lost myself due to anxiety.. please help! :(

savingkie
04-17-2014, 09:20 PM
Hi!! I'm 15 and I completely feel like I've lost myself. For the past 6 months, I have suffered with the most severe spike in my OCD/anxiety that I've ever had. It's my first year of high school, so I bet you can imagine how that went- I ended up missing a lot of school, and my grades dropped from straight A's to B-'s and even an almost failure in math. I lost all interest in playing volleyball and basketball (which were previously my two favorite sports) because they caused too much anxiety, and I lost almost all desire to go and hang out with my friends. Previous to November, I had always been a happy go lucky, excitable, ambitious, and motivated person with goals in sight. Now, I have little to no motivation to do well in school as I've overthought it so much that I barely see the point in it, and I have no desire to rejoin sports. I do want to hang out with my friends again though, which is definitely an improvement, even if it's miniscule. I've practically spent every day since November in my room thinking about life (whenever I'm not in school) and I think it's really taken a toll on me. My life revolves around my obsessional intrusive thoughts about self harm/suicide, and I'd honestly prefer any other obsessional thoughts over these ones, they make me miserable. I've almost created a whole different outlook on life, and my life has solely been revolved around my anxiety for the past 6 months, and it's stressful to say the least. I've developed major anxiety about the future, in any sense- I used to be absolutely eager to grow up, go to college, and get my dream job and a great life (whether realistic or not, I was willing to go for it and give it my all to achieve it)- but now, I can't even think of Sophmore year of high school without wanting to break down and cry. School is a nightmare for me, as despite my 504 plan for my extreme anxiety,