PDA

View Full Version : Is this OCD or something else? I'm terrified, help please!

savingkie
02-18-2014, 08:40 PM
I hope this doesn't sound absolutely mental, but I'm becoming very worried that I've developed schizophrenia or something, as becoming crazy is one of my biggest feats, despite the fact that my therapist did a full mental screening and I only have OCD and GAD, and not even a hint of a crazy mindset.

Anyways, I'm in high school (a time I should most likely be out enjoying as it's my first year), and I've had "pure obsessional" OCD, emetephobia, and GAD since elementary school. Over Christmas break, I was forced to try Zoloft (20mg of the liquid) because I was missing a lot of school due to my anxiety, and it sent me into a complete constantly anxious state. I lost 15 pounds, I had no appetite for the entire Christmas break (about 2 weeks), and I constantly felt a weird buzzing, "crazy", indescribable feeling in my head. Of course, since one of the medicine's side effects is an increased rate of suicide in teens, I absolutely freaked out and I was in a constant panic, mentally checking whether I was suicidal over and over again. I didn't see any of my friends over break, and I spent each day ruminating- which made me temporarily depressed. Due to the fact that my OCD was brought back by the possible .0001% chance of the medicine making me lose control (after it had been gone since last winter- every winter since 6th grade I've gotten intrusive thoughts about suicide- I DO NOT want to die, it's anxiety about losing control and committing suicide) I've been quite the anxious mess lately.