PDA

View Full Version : I'm new- Sleep Dread anyone??

marlena_dubbz
11-28-2013, 08:54 PM
Hey Guys! I'm new to this whole forum thing and I hope it helps. I have been so low lately because my anxiety has been on over drive the past week. It's making me miserable. The main and pretty much the ONLY thing causing me this anxiety is sleep. I get afraid of going to sleep, basically the fear that I will never be able to actually fall asleep.

It all started in September of 2007. The night before my first day of my Junior year in High School. I did my normal routine of going to sleep, but that night it all changed. I tossed and turned- not knowing what my problem was. I called my boyfriend freaking out and he said to "Just Relax" (I hate that). So I tried my hardest, but ultimately it has become an obsession.

I just want to know- Does anyone have this fear of falling asleep? Afraid of not getting enough sleep? etc? If so PLEASE give me some advice of what I can do. Because I'm really depressed and want to get rid of this fear of sleep already. Thanks!

lmr019
11-28-2013, 09:07 PM
All the time! Before I get in bed at night I WORRY WORRY WORRY that I won't be able to fall asleep. And then my mind goes crazy and I keep thinking about it. I totally understand why you're upset. I get really down on myself about it too. But we have to remember that it's in our head! And breathe....

JLBnole68
11-28-2013, 11:08 PM
Anxiety is often at its worst at bedtime. Our minds start racing because we're less engaged in our daily activities. Just out of curiosity, do you have a bedtime ritual of things you do to wind down and relax?

marlena_dubbz
11-29-2013, 12:53 PM
Thank you SO much lmr019! I totally feel alone- like I'm the only one who has this problem. I know it's in my head- but i don't how to take control over my own thoughts. Does anything help you?

marlena_dubbz
11-29-2013, 12:57 PM