PDA

View Full Version : Sternum Pain

Rickk90
11-11-2013, 12:56 PM
So off and on I've been having chest pressure for months
And recently sternum pain when I take a deep breath.
I've been working out for 4 years now and today as I was doing squats my sternum started to hurt.
I've had numerous studies done; echo, stress test, 24 holter, 10 Ekgs, Blood work and everything has came back fine. Later got diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder.
My question is does myheart sound ok or does it still sound like an underlying disease?

embrace123
11-11-2013, 06:22 PM
I think your fine and it's just anxiety. Describe your chest pressure

Rickk90
11-11-2013, 06:24 PM
I think your fine and it's just anxiety. Describe your chest pressure

pressure. and some times I'm aware of my heart beat , i feel it

embrace123
11-11-2013, 06:44 PM
Does it feel like a elephant is sitting on your chest? And how long does it really last?

Rickk90
11-11-2013, 06:59 PM
Does it feel like a elephant is sitting on your chest? And how long does it really last?

Yes
Sometimes several hours/all day

Chris C
11-11-2013, 07:44 PM
Based on all the testing you've had done it sounds like physically you're fine. Anxiety can present all kinds of physical symptoms. Do you find yourself breathing from your upper chest a lot? As opposed to breathing from your lower abdomen or diaphragm? When anxious we tend to take shallow breaths using our chest muscles and this can cause chest pain.

embrace123
11-11-2013, 08:03 PM
Yes Sometimes several hours/all day I'm also dealing with that to!! It's so ugly and feels so scary

PanicPhobia
11-12-2013, 12:35 AM
So off and on I've been having chest pressure for months
And recently sternum pain when I take a deep breath.
I've been working out for 4 years now and today as I was doing squats my sternum started to hurt.