PDA

View Full Version : How much Ativan is too much?

JimmyJazz41
09-28-2013, 10:55 PM
Hi all!! First post. I've been suffering from pretty nasty anxiety for about 4 months now (butterflies in the stomach, racing heart, difficult to sleep,muscle twitching).

I went to see the psychiatrist and he gave me some Ativan to take PRN (as needed) 0.5mg 3 times a day as needed. He also gave me some propranalol which doesn't seem to do much tbh.

It's really difficult to know how much Ativan I should be taking. He said just take it when things get bad. I've read so much about the problems of physical dependancy and addiction with Ativan. Generally I only take it 3 or 4 times a week, usually 0.75 mg a day (0.5mg doesn't really cut it). The most I've taken is 1.5mg. I've been doing this for about 3 months. Do you think this is too much or should I relax about it? If I go 48 or even 72 hours without I don't seem to get withdrawal symptoms (except it's really difficult to sleep). I'm scared of benzos but I'm wary of SSRIs and hope to be starting CBT within the next couple of weeks.

Many thanks in advance fellow anxiety sufferers!

acetone
09-30-2013, 01:56 AM
Wikipedia states rebound insomnia is a symptom of ativan withdrawal-
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lorazepam

alankay
09-30-2013, 07:39 AM
Withdrawal can't happen unless you take it daily for as period. Don't buy into all the fear mongering when talking about "as needed" use(but of course be cautious an sensible). I used to take up to 2 mgs or more for specific classes and then no more for days and never had any issues. 1 mg was a more common dose. The doc wants you to hold off as much as you can and learn calming skills. If you need .75 mg to 1 mg just a couple times a week you're OK. If you really are worried about it.................just don't take it.