PDA

View Full Version : NEWBIE: WHAT TO DO !!!!

Laura
10-14-2005, 10:27 AM
Hello

This is my first time visiting this site , so I am a little nervous. I have anxiety / depression disorder . I have had most of my life but 3 years ago it hit me like a ton of bricks !! I am on medication and receive therapy. I am married and have 3 grown children. I also have a grandbabie and another on the way. I dont work anymore . Although I have been on medication for sometime and receive therapy I still go through hell at times. Like today and yesterday I feel down and very anxious !! I feel lost and scared . I hate this feeling and just want it to go away for once and for all. I have tried so very hard to do what I have to do in order to become healthy but it just keeps coming back to haunt me . Why ??? I try and stay positive but that does not always work . I am so sick and tired of having to go through this. If there is anyone who can give me some input PLEASE do so. :cry:

shoe
10-14-2005, 12:33 PM
Hi Laura, welcome to the board

From the people I've spoken to and things I've read, anxiety disorders can be with us through our whole life. Through hard work and determination it can be lessened dramatically and even 'gotten rid of', but this mental illness does tend to resurface later on, and even worsen at times.

If your current therapy is not working for you, its probably time to try something different. Maybe discuss different options with your Dr or psychiatrist, or switch to a different one if you feel they can't help you.

just my 2 cents :)

Laura
10-14-2005, 03:49 PM