PDA

View Full Version : A newcomer and his story.

Mik.Vasudeva
07-24-2013, 12:03 AM
Hello everyone,

My name's Mik (or Mikhail if you prefer the long form). I'm a 22 year old apprentice sound-designer and composer. Where do I begin?

When I was a kid, I was what you can refer to as a "nervous child". Didn't like to sleep much, always thought the world was going to end from running out of breathable air etc... I also suffered from undiagnosed AIWS (Alice In Wonderland Syndrome, look it up. Scary/interesting. You'll also see why almost all cases are undiagnosed). It wasn't very visual for me like it is in most cases, it was very tactile and auditory. I used to have episodes of hearing every sound as having a negative emotional undertone. The most peaceful song, the most calming voice would become rushed, angry and even accusatory. And when I would have a fever I would experience this plus a feeling as if I was made of stone.

I suppose my anxiety grew into me along with this, perhaps not helped by the fact that anxiety is what my parents called the above symptoms. I want to make it clear that these were two very different problems for me, although not being able to distinguish them sometimes was crucial in the development of my current anxiety, even now that I've pretty much grown out of the AIWS.

It's hard to tell when the full blown panic attacks started, but it seems to me they've been around as long as I can remember, increasing in frequency and intensity as the years went on. Oddly enough, my high school years were the calmest. For me, that incredible blur of hormones and euphoria and heartbreak were an excellent distraction from reality. It wasn't until I was maybe 18 that the panic attacks came back with a vengeance.