PDA

View Full Version : Im new to this!

thinkpositive
09-26-2012, 02:41 PM
Been suffering from panic attacks for about 2 years now. They come and go. Seen to have almost manic episodes when a big life ever happens. Like right now my dad is missing and he has a warrant out for his arrest. I was at work last night and I suddenly get clammy, dizzy, tight chest pounding heart and feeling like I'm going to die. I've been better about breathing through these episodes. I immediately started crying and then had the shakes after. Today I'm having anxiety as well. I feel like I'm constantly obsessing over how my blood sugar is (I think bc hypoglycemia has the same side effects) I don't know I'm taking Zoloft have been for 2 years now I exercise and am seeing a therapist agin....help?!

Enduronman
09-26-2012, 03:26 PM
Well, you are taking steps in the right direction but obviously (zoloft) isnt the correct chemical to prevent high anxiety or panic attacks and quite frankly and honestly it was never designed for nor known for its effectiveness in that regard..

Help?.. What is the question for the forum?

Also, are you male or female if I may ask because I NEVER KNOW!! LOL!

E-Man.

AceParadox
09-26-2012, 03:49 PM
I agree with E-man here. Zoloft wasn't specifically designed to combat anxiety. I think it's more for depression if I remember correct. I'm sure your doctor will help you find one that will work well for you :] There's many, some work differently for others, it may take some time to find the right one. I don't know much of medications other than from what I read here in the forums, I self medicate.

I met a guy on a game last night whose characters name was "Klonopin", and after greeting and acknowledging a fellow anxiety sufferer, he told me about how when he was diagnosed with a panic disorder, his doc prescribed Klonopin for him and it worked right away for him, so well in fact, he named his main character that he plays after it.