PDA

View Full Version : New here

Chrideng
09-15-2012, 06:20 PM
Hello. I am new on here and looking for some friends and support. I have been battling anxiety for 3 years. I was taking Lexapro and doing well. I stopped taking it in November of last year. I was doing great until May and my anxiety came back and worse than before. I constantly think I am having a heart attack. I have been to the ER twice in 3 weeks and all tests were negative. I wore a holter monitor and that was negative. Can't sleep without taking a Xanax. I feel so sad. I don't want to take Lexapro again. Anyone beat anxiety without medication and could suggest some things I would be so grateful. I'm also hear to talk if anyone just needs someone to listen! Thanks and I'm looking forward to getting to know all of you!

j2005
09-15-2012, 06:45 PM
Linden method was extremely valuable to me. Meditation has been key to much of my success.

I still have anxiety, but no where near the struggle it it once was...panic almost non-existent now.

orangeribbons
09-15-2012, 11:01 PM
Medication just seemed to worsen things for me. I panicked about the side effects of my antidepressants and just hated taking them. I liked taking Xanax, but then one day it seemed to backfire and made me MORE anxious. So I decided that I feel less anxious just not being on anything; just taking it as it comes and dealing with it.

falconlady
09-16-2012, 01:09 AM
Wow, orangeribbons! Your story sounds almost exactly like what happened to me except what backfired on me was klonopin. I don't take anything now except a natural supplement that has passionflower as the main ingredient. I have found CBT to be very helpful lately.

ILoveConorMaynard
09-16-2012, 01:31 AM
When I was 11 years old I suffered from bad anxiety. I had to go to a NHS Mental Health place where I had to see a therapist. She just used to talk to me about everything but somehow it made me better! Trust me, it worked.