PDA

View Full Version : Magnesium?

kww5190
08-14-2012, 08:35 PM
Does anyone take magnesium and does it help with your anxiety? I have been trying to avoid taking lexapro because my attacks are sparatic but when I do have them they last for awhile and are pretty bad. I went to a health food store yesterday for some ear drops for a sinus/ear problem I have been having and was told by the owner to take a magnesium supplement. I purchased it and took one last night, and then 2 today as instructed but not sure if it helps.
I really don't like to take anything and most of my anxiety is health related so now that I have read the negative side effects I am having a total panic attack about overdosing on it.

Enduronman
08-14-2012, 08:46 PM
Hey KWW,

I'm not a big proponent of vitamins to reduce or relieve the type of anxiety that we have. Maybe for people with generally "normal" everyday types of stresses like they didnt get dinner ready on time, or 3 minutes late to soccer practice, or they accidentally forgot their nail appointment "anxiety"...Ours? Way different then that...Are you looking for actual natural herbal supplement to try over medications instead?...

E-Man.

kww5190
08-14-2012, 08:58 PM
Yeah I am not a huge fan of meds, my anxiety is more health related, so whenever I take something I am afraid that I will be in the 1% that suffers the worst side effects. So I would rather try a natural remedy first. My dr called me in a benzo and lexapro a few weeks ago but I never picked them up.

dazza
08-15-2012, 01:45 AM
Anxiety starts out as a worry. That worry can be because of a thought or the most normal, everyday physical symptom (e.g. a mild tummy rumble).

If vitamins help toward those initial physical symptoms then indirectly I guess they can help. But note the word indirectly

No harm in taking them (unless doc. says otherwise) but they won't miraculously cure you of anxiety!

Damavandi
08-15-2012, 03:17 AM
Hi KWW 5190: