PDA

View Full Version : struggling to relax

Tommy325
07-19-2012, 11:45 AM
Hi, first post, anxiety has recently been getting so bad especially at work. the main cause of my anxiety is the fact that my legs may go from underneath me and i will pass out, this stems from having reactive hypoglycemia which if i suffer from low blood sugar can cause fainting. altho i have never had a hypo and collapsed i still feel my legs turn into jelly and feel like im going ot pass out, i know this is anxiety but still cant get over it. i work as a gym instructor and walking from one end of the gym to the other causes this massively due to fear of passing out in front of everyone. i eat very healthy, exercise 3/4 x week and avoid all sugars. the only thing that helps me is going out at the weekend and binge drinking and this is when i feel normal. but the next day i feel like garbage and my anxiety is tenfold. really dont want to start on benzos but think this may be the option. i try and do relaxation exercises daily but find my mind wonders on other things and find it hard to actually get up and do any relaxation. i belive my breathing and relaxing are the main problem but really struggle to relax any ideas?

kyle2012
07-19-2012, 01:19 PM
Very like me when I drink I'm ok but the next day I feel horrible dizzy etc I'm on medication and don't take much at all just breathe it out

dazza
07-19-2012, 03:36 PM
From your post, the biggest concern is your hypoglycemia.
I have NO idea what this is, but I assume you are doing everything you should do to control it?

Controlling an actual health issue is your priority. Anxiety disorder comes (a very close) second.

I don't think you're helping yourself by getting rat-arsed at the weekends to be honest.
As tempting as it is, this is most likely a very bad idea given your situation.