Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

New Member here.. Anti-SSRI guy.

Hello all. -- I apologize in advance for my rather lengthy introduction...

Only recently did I realize that obsessive racing thoughts 24/7 coupled with moderate panic attacks were abnormal. Really. I honestly thought everyone had them and that some people were just better at dealing with them than others. During the day, I'll have as many as 5-7 different mental threads running on "autopilot" throughout the day.. Wondering "what if this.. what if that.. How can I fix this or that computer issue?!" (I'm an IT professional.) At night those 5-7 threads become 10-15.. all racing through my mind at supersonic speeds; spiraling out of control -- right at bedtime. I'll lie awake in bed for 2-3 hours before finally falling asleep. So you can all easily guess this greatly affects my quality of sleep on a very regular basis. This lack of sleep translates into a terrible work day filled with even more stress due to my weakened stress tolerance from the night before. Lovely.

I've tried Prozac, Zoloft, Effexor, Lexapro and Buspar. ALL of them wreaked havoc on my equilibrium (completely intolerable for a troubleshooting occupation such as mine) ... causing moderate to severe nausea, dizziness. I already have a terrible equilibrium, so these side effects were a game-ender for me. None of them helped the nervousness and panic attacks that I've apparently been experiencing since I was a young teen one bit. In fact, due to the side effects they caused, the meds only served to worsen my tensions.

It has been clearly evidenced that SSRIs are more trouble than they are worth at least for me. Unfortunately, our family doctor is one of the many pharma companies' brainwashed benzophobes.. and refuses to prescribe them.