Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

Thread: Hi everyone....

Cool Hi everyone....

Thanks for reading my message. I am new to living with anxiety, or, at least the type of anxiety that seems crippling enough to affect multiple hours of the day. I am 31, male, live in Los Angeles and have a full time job with a 45 minute commute to and from work.

My anxiety first seemed to manifest itself in the car, and mostly in the mornings. It typically occurs at specific intersections (if anyone knows LA traffic, they know what a claustrophobic nightmare it can be), when I am stopped, and there are cars all around me. At first it wasn't a big deal - I would feel uncomfortable, feel myself tightening up, but would be able to avoid anything further happening. As the car started to move, my symptoms went away a bit. However, I have now had around 4 full blown panic attacks while driving (intense heart palpitations, feelings of unreality, eyes darting everywhere, tight chest). Luckily, I have limited the attacks to lasting around 30 seconds-1 minute at a time. You can imagine how this snowballs given the fact that not only am I worried about the panic, I am driving, so there is an additional worry. Now I feel I am unable to drive to work, and I don't know if the symptoms will manifest if I am a passenger, as well. The last few days I have gone to work late, and left early in order to avoid the bulk of the traffic, and I have had some discomfort, but nothing that I can't deal with. I also seem to be fine driving at night.