Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

Coping In The Meantime

Hi all, this is my first time on this site or any other anxiety forum for that matter. I have been having panic attacks and anxiety attacks for the past year, they have been constant for the past month. I have been seeing a counselor for the past 3 months and that has helped. However I wake up each day feeling good for either a second or an hour, but that can switch immediately. I have health anxiety and my current fixation has been my breath. Sometimes, I feel as if I can't breathe automatically (I have yet to actually stop breathing) and that just sets off a wave of other sensations which then devolve into an anxiety attack.

I was having more pronounced anxiety about a week or two before this current semester started and that lead to me having attacks/constant anxiety in all of my classes for the first week (I don't believe its related to social anxiety/school stress, I just feel trapped when I'm in a class). I have been back to almost all of them of them but I still will leave early/constantly watch the clock. I rarely ever feel comfortable now, even sometimes when I'm at home.

I have been seeing a counselor at my school for some time now and its helpful. I have enrolled for a mindfulness class and have been doing 10-15 minute guided meditations in the morning. However all of this has only slightly reduced my anxiety. I have scheduled an appointment with a psychiatrist but that isn't for 6 more weeks (I have been calling other practices and its the same timeframe). If I am kind of freaking out but still need to go to a class I stop at the campus bar for only 1 beer (2 or more will set off heightened sensations which in turn set off anxiety). I can't keep doing this.