Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

My story - Anxiety

Hi everyone,

I've been a follower of the forum for a number of months now. It wasn't until today that I decided to join and share my story. After constant reading the forum, I'm well aware we are all not alone. Which is a very comforting thing.

A little background on me, I'm 27 years old, male. I work in the financial services industry (self-employed) as well as dabbling in the real estate industry here in Toronto, ON. My anxiety story started for me about 6-7+ years ago. My first anxiety attack happened at the movie theatre one evening and it has never been the same since. I will admit that I have been strong and learned to cope with a lot of the symptoms. The anxiety led me to experience many things, such as: panic attacks, heart palpitations, and to more recently muscle twitches, along with many others. I've been dealing with palpitations for the last 6 or more years as well. I've had my family doc run many tests and I see my cardiologist annually (my request). I've been told over and over again that they are completely normal, however, being as stubborn as I am, it's frustrating and still scares the hell out of me. I have to say I've always struggled with anxiety, but learned to cope successfully with it over the years. It wasn't until this past February when I was at the gym (been at the gym for the last 7 years as well since after dealing with anxiety), that I experienced a palpitation and freaked myself out into a panic attack - this bout of panic lasted almost an hour or more (the panic attack only lasted 3-5 minutes, I think). It seems to have been a downward spiral for me ever since. I've started seeing someone over the last 3 months and have found it helpful. I've also learned that my anxiety now is more focused on health anxiety. Constantly worried about my heart (doctors missing things, the usual anxiety concerns). A week ago Thursday I started e