Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

Constantly focused on breathing all the time.

This is my first time posting so I'll try and articulate aswell as possible. My father passed away last year and ever since I have had a ton of stress and what I believe to be anxiety pouring over me. I have never come forward to anyone about this. Coping on my own is a struggle so I'm trying to get some more opinions. I constanty am focused in my breathing to the point where the feeling is constanty interrupting my thoughts and daily activities. I feel like I'll stop breathing so I focus on breathing and seem to pull myself into bouts of shallow breathing. I keep thinking to myself that I need to stop but even focusing on the fact I need to stop makes me aware of my breath. Not only that but my chest feels tightish with each breath. It's gotten to the point where I'm constanty thinking about this and how to stop it, meanwhile I can't focus on sleeping, music, work or anything else without these thoughts taking me ovet. I feel like I'm losing control. I don't know how to deal with it all so I try to ignore it all. However I just can't keep living life with this feeling looming over me. I want to have my old mindstate back but I just feel I can never relax and am always pacing. Any thoughts or suggestions, this has been ongoing progressively since I lost my father. I also clench my teeth and randomly figdget to try and divert my thoughts to no avail. I just feel totally lostt.
    Last edited by Jud3; 04-28-2015 at 06:46 PM.

Hey, welcome to the club!

Are you fearful of your breathing, for example, worried that it feels unnatural/worried your shallow breathing will make you pass out? If so, this would be the symptom of an anxiety disorder mixed with hyperventilation.