Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

'New Car Syndrome'

Hello, I'm new to this type of thing, i.e; Forums, But I'm having a troubling time after a very traumatic experience,, I cant help but link each and every-thought, memory, dream or abstract concept; to the traumatic thing I experienced, constantly thinking its a product of that. I just cant shake it. I'm currently seeing a CBT therapist about my 'General Anxiety'; all the 'Ape Brain' thinking and such, which has helped me to a degree, but the unconscious 'linking' thing is really starting to get to me now. is this 'normal' for somebody suffering anxiety? Has anyone had a similar sub-conscious troubles. I'm sorry if my description is a bit vague. And As the tile says, I have been told its like , when you get a new car, you see the same car everywhere, as in seeing the things on your mind in every thought. I'd just like to hear someone elses' opinion (somebody whose felt it maybe?) Thanks.
    Last edited by Catchee; 01-24-2015 at 04:45 PM. Reason: further insight

New car syndrome. I like that definition. Yeah, I think it makes sense. I guess firstly I just want to ask what your therapist has said about it? Have you gotten a diagnosis of PTSD?

Welcome, by the way. I studied in Norfolk. Lovely part of the world.

Hello and welcome

I think this is normal - I know I do it.

Hope you find some support here..
    Gypsy x
    "You're the worst thing that ever happened to me." --Marla Singer

Quote Originally Posted by Catchee View Post
    Hello, I'm new to this type of thing, i.e; Forums,

But I'm having a troubling time after a very traumatic experience,,