Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

The thought of him leaving makes me suicidal

Hey there,
    I'm in my second year of university, and i met my boyfriend in freshers (literally the night i got here haha)
    We've been together ever since, and its great. We even live together with 4 other people this year
    however, my anxiety and depression goes crazy when i think about next year.. as he has a year in america.

I've tried all the things to put it out of my mind, and enjoy the time now- but i just can't as i'm so fixated on it.
    I feel like he's the only person who likes me at uni, and he's going to be so far away and with a huge time difference,

everytime i try to talk to him about it, he just dismisses it now, saying that it will be fine. But he doesn't know how bad i'm going to get without him here. My previous times when i've had anxiety and feelings of alone-ness has lead to me turning to bulimia in the past.

God, i'm just so frightened about it!
    any advice?
    Last edited by sleepygirl; 12-05-2013 at 04:22 PM.

Hi sleepygirl,

It sounds like you think you have one problem, and that is that your boyfriend will be going away for a year. But it looks to me in what you wrote that you actually have three problems. However, you have gotten them all tangled up into one problem, and have made resolution of that one problem dependent upon your boyfriend staying, even though you know he is going to be gone for a year. So I would recommend you separate these problems from each other and work on them separately.

Problem 1: My boyfriend is going away for a year and I don't want to lose him.

Problem 2: I don't feel like I have any other friends here at university.

Problem 3: I have a past problem of bulimia and am afraid I am going to fall back into it.