Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

New to this! GAD Concerns & Suggestions

Hey all,

I've found this forum to be extremely helpful and relieving. I don't know about anyone else but reading people's posts about similar situations gives me a sense of relief and helps me realize that I'm not actually going insane!

I'm a 22 year old graduate student in college and had my first full blown panic attack about a year and a half ago. It was the second week of school and I was already feeling overwhelmed. I was not able to fall asleep because I felt like I wasn't breathing properly, which was making my heart race uncontrollably. Eventually I fell asleep. It was my first time having an anxiety attack so the feelings were so unfamiliar. I literally thought I was having a heart attack.
    Anxiety does run in my family; (my mom, aunt, uncle, and grandmother have it) so I know that it's genetic.