Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

Alcohol Comsumption

Before my anxiety began, I was a student who drank on a regular basis and smoked about 10 ciggarettes a day, ever since my anxiety began which was due to stress and a traumatic event happening. I havnt wanted to smoke or drink due to wanting to preserve my life, but obviously i know its because im anxious about dying (which i know is silly)

I'd really like to be able to go to the pub with my friends and have at least one drink, but i can't even seem to do that and it annoys me because no matter how much I tell myself how I'm going to be okay the more I worry about drinking alcohol! My friends are slowly stopping asking me out to places e.g night outs because I dont want to drink alcohol!

BUT...I dont really want to drink alcohol that much so it doesnt bother me, just the social aspect of it, its such a dilemma.

Does anyone have any advice? on how to deal with this, or overcome my phobia I have developed?

Thanks

consume another drug. alcohol isn't the only social drug. good luck

Errm no to the above. Drugs don't help symptons they only mask them. You don't have to drink alcohol to go out with friends. Everyone with anxiety reacts differently to drugs or alcohol but usually when you're so worried and wound up when sober being on a substance can make you that much more anxious. Just go out and have fun sober. Not drinking isn't the end of the world.

Or have a drink at home, see how you do and then decide if you'd like to have a drink with friends.

Ed