Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.

Just been diagnosed with Anxiety.

Hi all, so I've finally gotten up the courage to go to the doctors and get myself checked out for anxiety. I'm completely new to the idea that I have some form of mental illness and quite freaked out by it, and so I've come on here to tell you my story and see if anybody has any advice for me on how I might be able to deal with it. (I've read the usual leaflets on how to cope with anxiety, yet all they seem to tell me are things that I know I should be doing anyway, yet find myself unable to do).

To start from the beginning, (I am a 22 year old male) I was brought up in a loveless home by parents that hated each other and could hardly stand to be in the same room as each other. I was bullied constantly throughout the entirety of primary school and the majority of high school for being ginger (it may sound trifling, but as a child, being segregated from society purely based on your hair colour apparently can be quite damaging), surprisingly to a worse extent in primary school, where I was shunned by the entire school and had no friends whatsoever.

Every single relationship I've had has been plagued with worry and distrust, and what I dubbed to myself as 'spiralling' from something that is completely inconsequential (or even just made up in my own head), into playing out far fetched worst scenarios that stem in a completely irrational way from them.

When I was 17 years old, my father started cheating on my mother with a crack cocaine addict and spent our entire families savings on fuelling her drug habit. A woman who beat him, alongside her ex partner (an ex convict for murder), who one night came to our house and told us he was going to kill us all if we didn't give him all of the rest of our money.