Welcome to the Anxiety Forum - A Home for Those with Anxiety, Fear, or Panic Attacks.
Driving 468x60
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Alcohol and anxiety

Hi everyone. I normally drink alcohol without issues (if anything it usually HELPS my anxiety temporarily, at least socially) but last night when I got home, I was still pretty intoxicated and I started feeling a weird surge of adrenaline mixed with nausea and these horrible feelings of depression. A really strange thing to be feeling while drunk. So I just got in bed, turned off the lights and started texting my friend about it and he made me feel better and then I finally just dozed off. Does anyone else ever have a response like this to alcohol? I've been drinking socially for 10 years and have NEVER felt this. I'm thinking it might be time to stop.

Yep. Drinking makes my anxiety worse. There have been a few times where I had an anxiety attack while drunk & it was the worst.

Quote Originally Posted by orangeribbons
    Hi everyone. I normally drink alcohol without issues (if anything it usually HELPS my anxiety temporarily, at least socially) but last night when I got home, I was still pretty intoxicated and I started feeling a weird surge of adrenaline mixed with nausea and these horrible feelings of depression. A really strange thing to be feeling while drunk. So I just got in bed, turned off the lights and started texting my friend about it and he made me feel better and then I finally just dozed off. Does anyone else ever have a response like this to alcohol? I've been drinking socially for 10 years and have NEVER felt this. I'm thinking it might be time to stop.

Read the thread titled "help! please read!" might be helpful to you.