PDA

View Full Version : An answer for now.

Mark Franklin
03-15-2012, 11:24 AM
Hi everyone,

I've been coping with anxiety for almost three years now. I have many of the same symptoms as described here and in literature. For months, I've been a lurker on forums like this just to reassure myself that there are others out there who deal with these issues like I do -- it's made me feel like I'm not the only one, so thank you.

Last week, I had a small realization that has helped me understand (at least for now) why my anxiety is here. To introduce myself, I wanted to share this with you all.

I've always understood that anxiety served a purpose for us -- it kept us alive throughout history (fight/flight), and it keeps us motivated now. I rationalized that my anxiety is in overdrive for some reason, but I couldn't ever figure out why. When it hit, it felt like I was a child again with irrational fears that couldn't be cured, only acknowledged and hopefully met with reassurance.

So, I thought about that inner child (I call it inner child, but others may call it the imaginative, creative, emotional or true self). For so long, my inner child played a major part in my life (some would call it childhood :) ). I was scared of things, used imagination, dreamed, and loved.

For several reasons, though, responsibility and adulthood had to step up and take over: I had to do well in school, I had to get a job, I had to excel at that job, I had to be a tough guy, I had to show no emotion, I couldn't be vulnerable, I had to be a boss, I had to represent my team, I had to represent myself, I had to represent my family. The inner child would try to stay part of my life, but I wouldn't let it because I thought the inner child would hurt my chances of success.