PDA

View Full Version : This might just be hyprochondria but I'm terrfied I have serotonin syndrome :(

03-02-2012, 01:49 AM
Could that be way the Ativan didn't work. I couldn't stop shaking tonight and I wasn't even hyperventilating. Is that a panic attack still- extreme shaking w/o hyperventilation. As said in a previous post, I was given viibryd for 3 days combined with my wellbutrin. after freaking out for 3 days.(probably wasn't the med) the doctor took me off it. Could I be having serotonin syndrome or withdrawal? Really freaking out and I have a feeling I will be back at the ER tonight. I know that both these drugs work with serotonin so I was just wondering. I'm going to be so broke if I go to the ER.

greenflies
03-02-2012, 05:16 AM
It sounds like it's probably not seratonin syndrome, but I'm not a doctor of course. Just Wikipedia-ing the drugs you're taking, Viibryd is only a partial agonist of one seratonin receptor and does not really affect other seratonin receptors. Wellburtin similarly does not do much to affect seratonin, it mostly affects norepinepherine and dopamine. Again, I have no medical expertise whatsoever, but I know that excessive shaking is an anxiety symptom and that these drugs don't affect seratonin levels all that much.

03-02-2012, 05:27 AM
It sounds like it's probably not seratonin syndrome, but I'm not a doctor of course. Just Wikipedia-ing the drugs you're taking, Viibryd is only a partial agonist of one seratonin receptor and does not really affect other seratonin receptors. Wellburtin similarly does not do much to affect seratonin, it mostly affects norepinepherine and dopamine. Again, I have no medical expertise whatsoever, but I know that excessive shaking is an anxiety symptom and that these drugs don't affect seratonin levels all that much.

Can they do a test for seratonin syndrome?

greenflies
03-02-2012, 05:38 AM