PDA

View Full Version : Treating depression and anxiety

Neil1973
01-24-2012, 01:48 PM
Hi everyone.

My name is Neil Cook and I’m an Honours year student at Liverpool Hope University studying Applied Social Science and Psychology. I’m currently conducting research into how effective or useful therapy (in particular CBT) and medication is for treating symptoms of distress (depression and anxiety). I’d be interested in hearing feedback of any experiences that you may have had with therapists and doctors and the treatment they provided (positive and negative).

To get the ball rolling here are some questions that indicate what kind of things I’m looking at:-

Do you think therapy or medication helped you at all? What do you think are the limits of therapy based on your own experiences?

Do you believe that it is correct to label depression and anxiety as illnesses which need curing?

Do you sometimes feel as though you are being judged when you see a therapist?

Do you think that therapy or lifestyle/relationship/personal situation changes are required for someone suffering distress to improve?

Why do you think people often feel ashamed or guilty about having depression or anxiety?

Do the positive effects of therapy last outside of the consulting room or once the course of treatment was over?

Who should decide what the outcome of therapy should be? (You or the therapist?)

How important are relationships in both maintaining and relieving your symptoms of distress? (This includes the relationship with your therapist)

How much does will-power and motivation play a part in recovery? Does therapy help or hinder this?

Why do you think therapy doesn’t work for some people?

I’d be interested in any comments you have regarding the above questions (which are just guidelines) or any other comments regarding your experiences of therapy and medication.