PDA

View Full Version : Just Diagnosed- What to expect?

Anselm
01-11-2012, 06:55 AM
Thanks to those who have replied to my previous post. Saw my psychiatrist yesterday and went through a list of my symptoms. Which include:

- Fear of meetings, conferences which I have to attend. I sit there sweating fearing I am going to lose control.
- Fear of going out to dinner with friends. So anxious I can't eat
- Always sitting close to a door when in a room of people so I can leave when I want
- Fear of driving, after a serious car crash.
- I'm studying to do a PhD and in some lectures I am so anxious I can't take in what's being talked about. Also when I have to give a talk, I do, but hate it. I'm told I do really well but I hate doing it. I guess this is down to years of hiding my anxiety.

She told me I have a case of text book agoraphobia panic disorder. A part of me feels relieved. I've had this disorder since 2006 and its been hell. I was self medicating through alcohol, to a dangerous level, which I understand adds to anxiety, but I've cut back.

I've been on 10mg Diazepan for about two years. Not everyday. Maybe once or twice a week when I felt a panic attack coming on. She now has me on 30mg Mirtazapine which I started last night. A couple of question:

i) What to expect from Mirtazapine? ( She called it a mild anti depressant.)
ii) How long does it take to kick in?
iii) Should I quit alcohol altogether.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Anselm

alankay
01-11-2012, 08:29 AM
Anselm, I too have Panic Disorder without Agoraphobia(some Social Anxiety too). The AD will help reduce your "base level" of anxiety but will take time(a week or two, sometimes a tad more). May also work to block panic. Main passing side effect is sleepiness, maybe dry mouth a little dizziness.
I won't necessarily quit alcohol, just limit it to weekends, etc. The drug may make alcohol a bit strong to you so be careful.