PDA

View Full Version : Got some horrible news and looking for support

dancinonwater
12-04-2011, 01:29 PM
Hi everyone, I'm rather new on this forum, but I have OCD and my anxiety has been getting REALLY bad lately. Yesterday at my dance class, one of the dancers (shes in her 20s) told us that she has breast cancer. The two of us are not particularly close, but at my dance studio, we are all a family, so we will all be going through this together, which means dropping everything to help her through this, and rescheduling performances that interfere with her treatment. I am just so scared... I haven't slept at all and my nausea has gotten to the point of actually vomiting. It's all I can think about. I know so many women that have had it because it runs in my family, and I have also lost some people to it. :'(
Any words of support would be greatly appreciated!

Roux
12-05-2011, 10:01 AM
I am actually a pathology resident so I deal with cancer a lot. I have seen what it does to families and in fact I lost my mother to brain cancer several years ago. You just really have to trust the doctors who deal with this stuff every day. That being said there is that intangible (spiritual aspect) that I firmly believe plays a huge role. I dont know how spiritual or religious you are but some times when things like this happen the best thing to do is to first and for most be there for the person (which it sounds like you and your dance class are doing) and second pray, think about her, try to be positive. It really does help. I am personally a catholic and when my mother was diagnosed with her cancer (around '92) the doctors gave her 6 months to live. Thankfully for 12-13 years she proved them wrong! I firmly believe that was because of positivity from her, from our family, and prayer.