PDA

View Full Version : Avoidant personality disorder questions

Roux
12-02-2011, 02:00 PM
So I just finished meeting w/ my therapist and she, after some questioning on her part due to the lack of my progression, thinks I might have Avoidant personality disorder. The little research that I have done on this makes me think she might be dead on. So ok we think we have the correct diagnosis now what most sources say is to do virtually the same treatment as one would do with GAD, SAD, panic disorder, or depression. That is great my big concern is what does this me about my prognosis. Am I doomed to this for the rest of my life? Can I cope and be worth society? Like I said in a previous thread I am in my second year of medical residency and I am having struggles. In fact I have had to take time off due to my increasing anxiety (secondary to mismanagement in medications and most likely pressure that I put on myself to be "fixed"). This whole thing is unbelievable frustrating to me because I have put so so much time into my career and I really love the field that I am in (pathology). I just want to finish and move on.