PDA

View Full Version : Scared of my Anxiety

lettinggoar
11-08-2011, 10:17 AM
Hi,
This is a hard subject but I feel like I need to someway get it all out. I was an only child with a lot of anxiety (I remember being scared at school and sleepovers). My parents divorced when I was around 3 and I lived with my mom and visited my dad on weekends. I dont remember a lot about my mom except for sleeping in the bed with her (because I was scared of the dark), and I remember some men she dated who sometimes scared me. She came from a large family, with 10 siblings, who all got together every weekend. When I was 10 years old, after I graduated from 6th grade, my mom sent me to stay with my dad and then commited suicide. She worked for a ob doctor and had access to all kinds of free samples and info on medications (but that wasnt the way she died). My dad had remarried some time before I moved in with him and I inherited three step siblings when all of this happpened. My dad is the most understanding man I know and he is just like me, we think the same, act the same, and I am very thankful that he was there for me, as was my step mom. After my moms death I remember laying in bed at my dads house for days, it was like a dream for a long time, then I started a new school and had to make new friends. Being almost 11yrs old, talking to anyone about what happened was very difficult and I felt like an outcast for a long time. I made some close friends and kept them around, I spoke to them a little bit about my "situation" but didnt really say much.