PDA

View Full Version : Professional worried that anxiety will ruin my carreer

Roux
11-02-2011, 02:53 PM
I am new to this board. I have been dealing with anxiety, depression, and panic attacks off and on through out my whole life. Recently things have gotten worse, and the stakes much higher. I am currently in my second year or residency in pathology well the constant feeling of being (pardon the pun) under the microscopic and judged on how I perform is really getting to me. Once I started residency my anxiety went up due mainly to the pressure and expectations. So I started to see a psychologist changed my medication:
I have been on 20mg of paxil for years then I went to 40mg of paxil. When that didn't cut it I was switched to presiq+buspar which made my anxiety go WAY WAY up (to the point all I could do was sit in bed and cry) then to paxil+abilify which seemed to work until I started getting akathisia ("antsy restless feeling") then I was switched to prozac+buspar. Well I think I know what made me crazy anxious the first time (i think buspar) because I have been a ball of anxiety for the last two days. Buspar seems to be the only common thread here. The problem I have is it seems like everything I do only makes my anxiety, worry, depression worse. I really am beginning to think that I am stuck like this. So my options are fight through the rest of residency (and be miserable), quit (and be miserable and broke with huge student loans), or find some freaking med combination that works. I guess I am wondering does this sound right? Is it just me or is it the medication? I at times almost feel like I am broken and I can be fixed. I think I would trade almost any physical disease condition for just being free from my anxiety. I truly hate this about myself. I could really use any and all help/opinions. I am getting to the point of giving up on my career all because of anxiety.

Brad72
11-02-2011, 03:37 PM