PDA

View Full Version : Vitamin D!

Matt93
09-26-2011, 04:26 AM
Did you know Vitamin D is linked to ALOT of anxiety and depression cases and increasing your Vitamin D levels can prove helpful to curing your anxiety and or depression? Hope this helps someone
-Matt

mommywoman
05-26-2012, 11:51 PM
I have heard that as many as 80% of people are defficient in Vit D. You get it from the sun primarily so if you are not getting enough sun then you need to take supplements and maybe try a light box. I have been using a light box for a couple of years and taking a supplement. I heard a dr say that 2000 i.u. (more than instructions say) a day is what they say you need. They also said that 15 min a day is efficient.

fisher
05-27-2012, 07:30 AM
Nice to know,i suffered anxiety for yrs on and off but been great the last yr or so but now am pregnant 7 months i am starting to get anxiety again,mainly because i have a health phobia,i am low on iron and vit d, i know its not alot and i shouldnt moan but it worries me

FedUp
05-27-2012, 10:14 AM
This may sound odd, but sometimes when I have anxiety orange juice helps! I was low on potassium once and that can cause a lot of similar symptoms as anxiety.

larmer
05-28-2012, 08:50 AM
if you don't take the calcium with the vitamin D it will no absorb. don't just take vitamin D alone.

DrZafirides
07-29-2012, 11:22 PM
Vitamin D is a critical vitamin. Technically, it isn't a vitamin. It is more like a steroid hormone. Over the last 3-4 years, I have begun to routinely obtain Vitamin D levels in all my patients. The formal lab test is a 25-Hydroxyvitamin-D level. I would say 90-95% of my patients are deficient in Vitamin D.

It is absolutely stunning to me.

Vitamin D has been suggested to be linked to depression and anxiety. I tell my patients that Vitamin D is so important for overall health and well being that I really want to make sure they are not deficient.