PDA

View Full Version : Major anxiety over new puppy

etherial
09-12-2011, 06:48 AM
Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum but not new to anxiety. I am 34 year-old female and have had anxiety for as long as I can remember. I think I had my first panic attack at about 10. I have been on medication for 16 years now and am currently on Effexor-XR.

Like most anxiety sufferers, I have my ups and downs. I have been coping really well for the past 12 months on the minimum dose of 37.5mg but have been up to 150mg in the past. I don't like the side effects of anxiety medication so I tend to keep myself on the lowest dose I can.

Sadly, my boxer dog passed away 5 months ago (age 9) and two days ago I picked up my new boxer puppy. I had been sooooo excited about it for weeks and weeks, but as soon as I got her home, I woke up the next morning absolutely terrified - heart pounding, body shaking, stomach pains (the usual anxiety symptoms). I felt like I had made a big mistake, despite how totally adorable she is. I guess the enormity of the responsibility I had taken on hit home. I got so bad that my parents had to take her for the night last night while I sat at home breathing into a paper bag. I was too overwhelmed by her to even look at her. She is back with me tonight and I am feeling a bit better, though I am still going through ups and downs in my mind about it. One minute I feel fine about it, and then all of a sudden a new way of anxiety hits me and I worry it over in my mind again.

Has anyone else felt this way before about a new pet? It also happened to me with my first dog and the feelings of panic and anxiety did pass (I had 9 wonderful years with her) I just don't remember how long it took for me to overcome them.

I really don't want to have to give back, but I feel sick to my stomach and I'm so afraid that I'm not strong enough to work through this. Is that just the anxiety talking?