PDA

View Full Version : Losing Friends

Schatmeisje
09-11-2011, 03:13 PM
Hi all, Just after a bit of advice or to see if the same thing has happened to anyone else. Prior to having GAD and a bit of agoraphobia, I had a lot of what i regarded "good Friends' then slowly they all went away once I couldnt go out anymore or help them with anything etc. Since this I have pretty much relied on my partner and my mum to help me get out of the house and they are my 'safe' people. The last person i had left that was someone i trusted was my massage therapist who i had been using for 5 years, spending $100 a week for 5 years, and i helped him build his business up from scratch so he didnt lose his home as he was struggling financially. He use to go out golfing with my partner, and always used to drop by our house if he was in the area for a cuppa. I had to miss some appoinments when i was going through a rough patch with the agoraphobia, but wrote him a message letting him know what was going on telling him i couldnt wait to get back and see him and his wife again, Then he deleted me from facebook :-( so i wrote him a message to ask why and he said 'i thought you were not happy with my service'....now i know this isnt true as i kept him well informed and still kept reccommending him to people. So i wrote back saying me and my partner were sorry as we must have misunderstood and assumed we were friends, not just clients and that i didnt realise that he only had people on facebook who payed him (which i know was the wrong thing to do)

The thing that upsets me is that one of my next goals to get more comfortable going out was to strat going back to his house, and now i feel like that opportunity has been taken away, and i dont really have anyone else i could try with :-(

I guess what i want to ask..is am i over-reacting in being upset about this?? and has anyone else found their friends disappearing because of their disorders?

Nicolehoelle
09-11-2011, 04:36 PM