PDA

View Full Version : Smoking and Anxiety...

leighs
09-05-2011, 10:05 PM
So...I've noticed that when I smoke a cigarette my anxiety (not a full blown panic attack) seems to increase. I've been smoking for about 9 years now so the horrible habit is nothing new. I am wondering if it is really connected or if it's just me searching for a reason I have GAD. I've looked around online a little and did notice there were some people who felt better with their anxiety levels after quitting. Anyone have any input for this?

kellyzac
09-06-2011, 03:39 AM
Hiya i used to smoke and quit about a year ago im alot more anxious now but i don't no if they are related as ive never really thought about it.

Skizo
09-06-2011, 08:16 AM
No and my psychiatrist actually told me that smoking calms you down so he reccommended for me to keep on smoking.

cali-iso
09-06-2011, 08:52 AM
Haha my doctor actually told me the opposite- maybe it depends on the person? I know smoking calms some people, for me it makes me more jittery which makes my anxiety worse.

Robbed
09-06-2011, 02:25 PM
This one can DEFINITELY go different ways for different people. So it's entirely possible that your smoking is increasing your anxiety levels, especially if you notice that your anxiety increases consistently after smoking. You could certainly try quitting to see whether this improves things. Although it may not actually make your anxiety go away completely, it might improve things (not to mention your physical health, where the effects of smoking are MUCH more clear-cut). Just keep in mind that, even if quitting improves your anxiety in the long run, quitting smoking is probably going to make your anxiety levels increase temporarily during the withdrawal period. However, this can be minimized if you taper rather than go cold turkey. Tapering is typically better if you smoke very heavily and/or have anxiety disorder.

Schatmeisje
09-06-2011, 04:01 PM