PDA

View Full Version : Please help. Trying to get off xanax xr .

cmolio2
11-04-2006, 03:59 PM
Hi all,
I am a 22 year old male and I have had anxiety for about 3 years. I have been taking 0.5 mg Xanax XR once a day for 3 years as well. I am a pipemaker and woodworker. I work at home and I usually work late at night so I am not bothered my family. I always take the .5 mg. xanax xr at 8 AM , then I go back to sleep til 12 NOON.When I wake up at 8 AM to take my med. I am usually up for about 30 min. to an hour without the med in my system. I feel fine. I dont understand why I wouldn't feel withdrawals. I also feel better at night when the med isn't working anymore. Please help. Thanks.

I am also agoraphobic (house-bound for 2 years) and due to my condition my doctor is refusing to refill my xanax. I havent been to a doctor in about 2 years so I other doctors wont prescribe without seeing me.This means I either endure the extreme stress of going to the doctor or just get off the xanax and live my life drug free. I am medically dependant on this med but I have been feeling great lately. I am trying to switch from one daily dose of 0.5 mg xanax xr to 0.125 mg xanax(reg.) 4X a day.
Is this the same dose as I was taking before. Or is it too much of a taper. I have no idea. I just want to get off this crap. I am really freaked out because I dont want to be sick or have seizures. I am not epileptic or prone to seizures so I dont think that will happen. I would like all the info that you folks can produce. I have researched this for the past 3 months but I need personal experience advice.

I would also like to know the safest and best way to taper off this dose. I have about (60) 0.5 mg. reg. xanax to work with. Please help me. I have come so far in my journey to recovery from anxiety and agoraphobia. Thank you all very much in advance. Good luck in your endeavors and recovery!

cmolio2
11-04-2006, 06:33 PM