PDA

View Full Version : will this ever end?

loome
06-30-2011, 11:40 PM
i dont really know how this...or any forums really work...so sorry if im doing this wrong.

its just that im skimming through these posts and most of them sound like me. similar symptoms at least.

the thing is, i know whats going on with me. i know, technically, whats happening in my brain. ive known ive had anxiety since i was at least 13. ive been to therapy. i studied psych and neuroscience in college.

The depression got worse in my late teens, then even worse in my 20's.
sometimes debilitating, most of the time just...constant but not immediate. just always there. inside and behind everything i do and feel.

im taking the medication (lexipro and wellbutrin). i think ive been happier. i AM happy sometimes. in a kind of shallow, passing way. but i laugh, i have fun, i go out. i love my boyfriend, he loves me. im close with my mother. i have a few good friends, less and less these days, but i still have somewhat of a social life.

i just graduated college. im working a shit job. but i still have a chance, supposedly, to make something great out of my life. and of course im scared out of my mind about the future. nothing too out of the ordinary for someone my age.

this is what i tell myself every night. its all true. but why doesnt it feel true?
you know what i feel, most nights?
i feel icy and cold and numb and scared and alone. i feel partially dead and partially isolated inside some dead cocoon, unable to escape or breathe or move. i feel stupid. i feel weak. i feel like there is a pit inside of me. i feel like im crumbling into myself. i feel like im falling backwards down an endless blackness, down some bleak dark forgotten lifeless abyss.
and its terrifying. because i know i am endlessly alone.
and then...